Slow-cooker Chicken and Veggies

I never use my giant 5 quart slow cooker because I don’t live where I work, and I’m always worried about scorching dinner before I get home. That said, Sunday seemed like a great day to drag the behemoth off the top shelf and dig up a recipe to use. This recipe seemed easy and tasty, so here goes…

chicken and veggies

  • Place three chicken hindquarters in a well greased slow cooker.
  • Top with…
    • Six washed and quartered red potatoes
    • Four washed, peeled, and chunked parsnips
    • 1/2 bag of baby carrots
    • Three washed and sliced leeks
  • In a separate bowl combine…
    • One can cream of chicken soup
    • One can cream of potato soup
    • One Tablespoon “garlic garlic” seasoning
  • Pour over chicken and veggies.
  • Cook on low for 7-8 hours, until veggies are tender and chicken is cooked through.
  • When everybody’s done, remove chicken and veggies from pot, leaving behind cooking juices. Stir in one Tablespoon dijon mustard and one teaspoon of dill weed. Pour onto individual servings.

First of all, the slow cooker didn’t set the house on fire while I wasn’t home—my number one fear. Second, this was amazing! The chicken literally fell of the bone, and I was left with medieval-dining-hall-looking plates of meat and root vegetables. Who knew parsnips were good? Finally, I love any meal that is this cheap and delicious at the same time!