Bambino’s

Bambino’s moved out of Orilla into West Des Moines…..One point for the big city. The clover leaf rolls were still hot, the menu giant, and the food filling, so I’m only complaining a little bit. 🙂

I was a few minutes early for Cain Cousin Dinner Club, so I was able to scope out the crowd: definitely a place to take your parents. That’s not to say you couldn’t also choose Bambino’s for a date because it’s rocking the old school ‘Des Moines mafia’ look that I feel Christopher’s and Jesse’s Embers both have. Your date may value your appreciation of classic food, sans bells and whistles.

I wasn’t kidding when I said the menu was giant; there are five pages of pizza, pasta, chicken, seafood, beef, and a little corner with three dessert offerings.  Thursday is “All You Can Eat Spaghetti,” but cousin #1 still opted for the mini spaghetti and one meat ball. I was worried our waitresses head might explode as she was a little awkward without being thrown this curve ball. Cousin #2 selected the Scala Pasta, Bambino'srigatoni with peppers, sausage, onions, and mushrooms. She asked for extra mozzarella in addition to the sprinkle of Parmesan and was pleased with the dish overall. Both ladies complimented the hearty red sauce which Bambino’s boasts as one of their signatures.

As illogical as it sounds, I wasn’t in the mood for pasta so this cousin ordered the Chicken Saltimbocca. Bambino’s doesn’t stand on ceremony when it comes to presentation (see ugly picture), but that didn’t break my heart because it was dish I would order again. The garlic mashed potatoes had set under the heat lamp a little long (re: slightly confused waitress) and had gotten a bit crusty on top, but their flavor was excellent, and I loved how positively drowned the chicken was in the salty marsala sauce and mushrooms.

To put the cherry on top of this dinner, Thursdays sport no corkage fee and an accordion player showed up to play Italian music (?!?!). Final word: some confusing elements but a solid dinner can be found at Bambino’s.